Music, Classical and Contemporary Music

Sunday Clas­sics: French Ro­man­ti­cism and Im­pres­sion­ism

Get your ticket
Get your ticket
Get your ticket
Get your ticket
Get your ticket
Get your ticket
Get your ticket
Get your ticket
Get your ticket
Get your ticket
Get your ticket
Get your ticket
Get your ticket


4.400 kr

Next event

Sunday 23rd April - 16:00



This repertoire of French music from 1867 to 1927 sheds light on a very important transitional period in the history of Western music, which had its roots not least in French Impressionism. The impact was profound and can still be felt today.

The importance of female composers in the history of music is becoming more and more apparent. This concert features two French female composers, Pauline Viardot and Lili Boulanger, together with Ravel and Debussy, the two main composers of French music and representatives of the direction that is often attributed to impressionism in music.

Claude Debussy (1862-1918): Beau Soir arr. by J. Heifetz for violin and piano

Lili Boulanger
(1893-1918) Deux morceaux

Maurice Ravel
(1875 - 1937): Sonate no 2 pour violon et piano
I. Allegretto
II. Blues. Moderato
III. Perpetuum mobile. Allegro


Pauline Viardot
(1821 - 1910): Six Morceaux
Vielle Chanson

Claude Debussy
(1862 - 1918): Sonate pour violon et piano
I. Allegro vivo
II. Intermède: Fantasque et léger
III. Finale: Très animé

Violinist Sif Margrét Tulinius graduated from the Reykjavík Academy of Music in the spring of 1991 under the guidance of Guðnýjar Guðmundsdóttir. She received a Fulbright scholarship for further studies in the United States and completed her B.A. degree with honors from Oberlin University in Ohio, where her teachers were Almita and Roland Vamos, and later a master's degree from New York in a joint project between the Juilliard School of Music and Stony Brook University, where her teachers were Joyce Robbins and Joel Smirnoff. During her student years, Sif took part in many prestigious music festivals, e.g. Aspen Music Festival, Tanglewood Music Festival and Prussia Cove Music Festival.

After graduation, Sif moved to Europe and played with various music groups at numerous music festivals around the world, including the New York Symphony Ensemble in NY and Japan, the Ensemble Modern in Frankfurt and the Münchener Kammerorchester.

In the fall of 2000, Sif competed for the position of 2nd concertmaster at the Iceland Symphony Orchestra and was subsequently hired. She held that position until 2016, when she moved to Berlin, where she lived for several years and played with numerous prestigious music groups and orchestras, e.g. Berliner Philharmoniker and Kammerakademie Potsdam.

Sif has been influential in the Icelandic music scene, she has performed as a soloist with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra, i.a. performing the violin concerto Offertorium by Sofia Gubaidulina, Fylgju by Þorkel Sigurbjörnsson and performing the Partita by Witold Lutoslawski. She has participated in the performance of chamber music at all major chamber music festivals in the country. Sif has, both independently and together with others, actively participated in the performance of modern music and premiered in the concert series Bach and the present, which took place in the last year of work, three Icelandic solo works composed especially for her. These compositions are expected to be published in 2023. In recent years, in addition to giving concerts, she has devoted more time to teaching and currently works as a violin teacher and chamber music instructor at the Kópavog Academy of Music and the Iceland Academy of the Arts.

Edda Erlendsdóttir, has lived in Paris for many years, where she has taught and worked, e.g. at the Conservatory of Music in Lyon and the Conservatory of Versailles. She currently works as a guest lecturer at the Iceland Academy of the Arts. Along with teaching, Edda has held many concerts and participated in music festivals in most European countries, in the United States and in China.

Edda is heavily involved in the music scene in Iceland, e.g. at the Art Festival in Reykjavík, at the Chamber Music Club, in the Tíbrá Hall and on Dark Music Days.

Edda has been an active participant in chamber music. She initiated annual chamber concerts at Kirkjubæjarklaustri and was the artistic director for 15 years. She is also a member of the chamber group Le Grand Tango, which, under the direction of bandoneonist Oliviers Manoury, has specialized in the performance of Argentine tango.

She has released discs with piano works by C.P.E.Bach, Grieg, Haydn, Tchaikovksky, Schubert, Liszt, Schönberg and Berg that have received recognition and praise. Her disc of 4 piano concertos by Haydn with the Icelandic Symphony Orchestra conducted by Kurt Kopecky won the Icelandic Music Prize.

Edda Erlendsdóttir was awarded the Knight's Cross of the Icelandic Order of the Falcon for her contribution to music in 2010.


Sif Margrét Tulinius

The ticket prices are as follows:


4.400 kr.


Norðurljós is a recital hall on Harpa’s second floor, situated between Eldborg and Silfurberg. It offers various possibilities for concerts, conferences, receptions and other events.